When you go two weeks without learning

Japanese is an important part of my life. The day I began learning my first Hiragana characters was the day I became a different person. I began living my life with a discipline that surprises me even now. Thanks to Japanese, learning has become a way of life.

So you can imagine how distraught I feel that I haven’t studied anything since July 3rd, the day JLPT was held. A lot of things have happened in the past few weeks and the whole thing has been building over to such a point that I feel mentally tired every day I come back home from work.

I’m at a point where I’m thinking about a lot of things – a job change, skill development, extra-curricular club responsibilities to name a few and while all this activity is keeping me on my toes, I’d like to have a breather once in a while where I don’t have to think about anything else but Japanese.

The challenge I see before myself is to use my time and energy wisely. I usually function well when I set aside chunks of my time for different activities. For example, I would study Japanese for 1-2 hours straight without anything else distracting me. But now, this might not work out so well for me.

What I need now is a way to ensure I get some studying done even when there are a lot of other things happening on the same day. I need to get a little smarter and creative with how I learn languages.While I haven’t yet figured out how I’m going to do this, I have to get back into studying again. Two weeks has been a pretty long time and I hope I haven’t forgotten anything.

2 thoughts on “When you go two weeks without learning

  1. haha I know how you feel, I go through periods like that too. (In fact I didn’t study Korean for like 3 weeks recently) Sometimes you need to give yourself a bit of a mental break, and that’s okay. A good thing is that language tends to come back to you fairly easily after forgetting (compared to learning from scratch). In my case, I’m trying to balance my language learning schedule but I think I’ll have to work on that in the next few months haha Good luck 😀

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)

