Thoughts on teaching Japanese

The past few days at work have been challenging. ‘The outside world is going to be rough, so toughen up’ is a common saying that most students are familiar with. However, I could never bring myself to believe them. I joined an organisation in January as an intern and graduated to a full time employee last month. The work was challenging as I was constantly pushed out of my comfort zone. As a result, I’ve learnt quite a lot of things about myself.

But now, with almost 6 months in, I’m still uncomfortable and I don’t think that is a good sign. And so, I’ve decided it is time to start looking for a new kind of work, somewhere where I am challenged, but not to the point that I come up mentally drained and unsure of myself. One of the ideas that I’ve been toying with for a while is teaching Japanese. While I’m not qualified to be one right now, I would like start teaching basic level Japanese in Bengaluru or English to non-English speakers living here.

I do not want this to be a full time gig as I’ve other interests as well. Language learning has been an exciting journey for me till date and I would like to share this excitement with others as well. Not to mention, I’d get a chance to develop a stronger foundation in my own studies. Thanks to my Japanese learning friends I’ve come across a few opportunities already. I feel that if things pan out I’d be one step closer to building a life that I’d be happy to live.

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)

