Be strict with yourself

I had been dragging my feet for too long. While I had some semblance of a plan set up for the JLPT exam in July, I hadn’t put strict deadlines on what I wanted to achieve, say, per week or per month.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I had been trying to bridge the gap of knowledge I had by going through N4 grammar. However, I wasn’t getting any closer to the finish as I kept depending on my “mood” to guide me on whether I wanted to finish that particular chapter or not. In other words, I was just being lazy.

So, I gave myself a deadline and pushed myself through the end of the textbook. I made a lot of excuses, but in the end, I finished the book! Woohoo! I even managed to make a cheatsheet for myself with all the N4 grammar points on one sheet for easy access. I’m planning to do the same with N3 grammar this month.

The point of this post though is this. Language learning is fun and since you’re doing it on your own, it’s undoubtedly the best thing in the world. Although no one has to tell you twice to get your book out and study, there will be times you will procrastinate or will make a small task unreasonably long and boring. Instead, just do it now! The times you want to give up the most are the times you should be pushing through and doing it.

Give yourself a dedicated weekend and get it over with. You will feel proud at the end of it and even find your schedule open for the next new thing to come.

 

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)

