Weekly Goals: January 3-10

I’m so excited about this new year. As I’ve mentioned before I have big plans for myself that includes bringing in some major changes to my lifestyle. The coming week is an important week for me because I finally start work! Well, it’s more of an internship, but I really want this to work.

In addition to that, I’ve also been thinking about what I wanted to do for Japanese this month. Although I’ve managed to re-incorporate Japanese language study into my daily life, it’s still all over the place. I want to work on all four aspects of Japanese – speaking, reading, writing and listening. But I don’t have enough time to do so.

Thanks to this article, I’ve decided to dedicate this month to extensive reading. In my last post I spoke about one of my problem areas in Japanese. Extensive reading should help me overcome it as well as increase my reading speed and comprehension. Hopefully, I’ll be killing several birds with just one stone.

How do I plan to go about it?

  1. Read everyday: I have a terrible habit of giving up on things if I take a break in between. I’ve done time and time again with my fitness goals. Well, lesson learnt.
  2. Avoid biting more than I can chew:  It’s imperative that I do not give up on my goal to read even before I start with it. Since I’d like to get some reading done everyday I’ll settle for a paragraph or two/10 sentences for this week.
  3. Read out aloud: While I prefer not disturbing my roomies by making sounds that they do not understand, reading out aloud will help me not only focus on the nuances of the passage but also help me familiarise with my Japanese pronunciation as well as get used to speaking Japanese.
  4. Focus on context: While dictionaries are helpful, they can become quite a pain in the ass if the passage is filled with unfamiliar words. By focusing on the context, it is possible to come up with meanings for these words on your own. The new vocabulary can be noted down later with their actual meanings against them. This is a great way of reinforcing the new information into one’s memory.

I don’t know how I’m going to do it but I’m also going to write one Lang-8 post at the end of the week using the words that I have learnt. It’s going to be difficult, but I’ll give it a try.

Listening will definitely be a part of my language learning this week. I will not try and set a time for it because that is too restrictive. I also do not want to overwhelm myself with it.

In addition, I will also review all the words on Cram whenever I have time and chat with my HelloTalk friends.

So, that’s about it. Extensive reading coupled with some listening practice will be my primary goal for this month. I don’t know how successful this plan will be, but it’s good to have some sort of direction, right?

One thought on “Weekly Goals: January 3-10

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)

