An update: The week after JLPT

Post JLPT I’ve been trying to get back into a steady routine. But I’ve been distracted with assignments and Youtube. But I’m trying to not to be so hard on myself.

As I said in my previous post I will be concentrating more on reading and listening. Past experiences have shown me that attempting to cram all the elements in one study session per day can be tough on the brain. So I decided that I would dedicate specific days for each activity.

Monday through Wednesday would be dedicated to Reading and listening and Thursday and Friday would be dedicated to grammar ( I still haven’t finished going through my N4 grammar book). The weekends would be dedicated to revision of vocabulary and grammar points.

Now, this might be a weekly schedule, but it doesn’t always guarantee I’ll study according to it. Thanks to Hannah, I know it’s better to have a monthly goal to keep me on track. And so, here are a few things I want to do before the month ends.

December

Reading and Vocabulary

  • Reading Tumblr Texts
  • Learn a Japanese song (flumpool’s 花になれ)
  • Cram and Memrise study of 50 vocab words

Writing

  •  2 posts on Lang-8 (I really need to start making my own sentences)
  • Write a letter to my penpal

Listening

  • 1 episode of K Project: Return of the Kings (anime): Listening and Re-listening

Grammar

  • 4 lessons from N4

I am a little skeptical about finishing all of these by the end of this year because it’s almost Christmas time and I’ll be done with classes and going back home to spend some time with my family. I’ll be a little disappointed if I don’t finish these though.

I’ve been using Cram to make flashcards for all the words that I’ve come across till now. The number of flashcards are increasing and I’m getting quite nervous. Flashcards will only work if I keep reviewing them. I’m already done with about 36 flashcards full of words as well as sentences.

I’ve also begun listening closely to an episode of K project. I’ve come to realise that I’d be better off with a video that did not have English subtitles hardcoded into it. I’ll be downloading anime video without any subtitles and probably use Japanese subtitles to double check what I’ve heard.

That’s it for now. I can’t wait for 2016 to start. Somehow I get this feeling that 2016 is going to be really good to me!

9 thoughts on “An update: The week after JLPT

  1. WOW! You sure are organized and quite hard-working I must say ! With this rate, I’m sure you will soon improve your language skills. 🙂 I wish I could learn like you. Planning never really works for me ! But it is great to see your zeal ! I think I’ll give Japanese a try after I reach a satisfactory level in Korean ! Will be sure to refer your blog. All the best ! 화이팅 ! Is there any phrase or word like hwaiting in Japanese? 궁금 !

    1. Hey Koen, thanks for the compliment, but really, I just like making plan. Doesn’t mean, I follow them to a T. It keeps me organised and helps me touch certain areas without compromising on them.

      I’ve been wanting to learn Korean and I feel I think more Korean than Japanese thanks to those dramas and music, which btw, I should cut down on. That’s one of my worries actually. I can’t seem to find proper entertainment media in Japanese that’ll help me unhook from Korean entertainment. Sigh.

      As for the phrase for “hwating”, the Japanese say “ganbatte ne!”or “Fight-o”. 🙂

      1. Ah I see! Haha ! I think I know what you mean. Yes I am addicted to Korean dramas or any sort of Korean content, for that matter, too. And I have completely given up on trying to cut my drama hours too ! (Coz it is impossible for me! ㅎㅎㅎ) I don’t know about the J-Tv contents, but perhaps you can learn both simultaneously. I say you should start up with learning Hangul. It is extremely easy.

        Ah! Ganbatte ne! Thanks for letting me know 🙂 (Is it ne (as in “nay” or ni?)

        Anyways, Will be cheering for you! Fighto!

  2. I found if I created a plan that organised what I’d do for every single day – that ain’t gonna happen! Working with a monthly goal is definitely better, even if it has a bit of cramming in the last week XD I really like Cram for making flashcards, and they have a game-like way to study as well which is fun. Definitely recommend Lang-8. Good luck with your goals, I’m sure you’ll do well – even if you cross one thing off the list that’s still good. 2016 indeed feels like it’ll be a good year 🙂

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)

