Managing energy and time

It’s been a while since I noticed a trend in my behaviour. I tend to focus on a task and work really hard on it for a certain period until I stop, completely. And it is very hard to get out of it. I haven’t really made an effort to count how many days it is before I lose focus and energy. But I’d say it’s about a week or two before I give out and dive into laziness.

During this time, I don’t feel like doing anything. Be it university assignments, Japanese or even get out of bed. This period of laziness eats into my time. And this is a pattern that is very hard to get out of. I often feel like my brain requires these periods of rest. It’s just unfortunate that it takes this long to get back up on the saddle.

I have been going through this phase lately. And today seems to be the day I begin a new cycle of work. I’m thankful to feel motivated to move around, exercise, read a book and study Japanese. I don’t know if the reason for this is because I push myself too hard. But the fact that I noticed this should be helpful, right?

7 thoughts on “Managing energy and time

  1. Definitely that you’ve noticed this is progress! Have you heard of the Pomodoro technique? It may help you since you’re already focusing on something in particular, but having it in chunks of 20/25minutes with an alarm to say ‘have a break!’ or something might give you a signal to change to something else? I’m not sure, but it’s important not to burn out 🙂

      1. That’s what I’ve been trying to do. It’s been helping but I think what helps is not feeling bad if I don’t keep to the same time every day.

      2. To be honest – it’s still something I’m trying to figure out! Vocab/grammar/kanji, I find best to learn in context while also making memorable sentences for practice. Reading and writing are the easiest for me, I use Lang-8 to write journals and read books. Listening is the hardest, while I do listen to a lot of songs, I haven’t made good use of the mp3 files that some of my resources have but it’s good to work up to natural speed – so like the news. Although I’ve been doing a little bit every day, it’s not been very constructed :S

      3. I gathered from your previous post, yeah, flashcards can be a pain but then they’re also really good. Though it gets a bit tiring after a while. Again with context it’s good to talk about stuff that you can talk about but then that doesn’t help with things like I dunno say if you know a lot about animals but not much about space, you’d be able to remember vocab related to animals more so than space. *shrugs* terrible example but yeah XD

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)

