An introduction to Keigo

Today, I ventured into the complex world of けいご. I’ve only a little peek and I’m already sweating.  I might have just touched the surface with this lesson, but I can tell that this is going to take some time to internalise.

Today I learnt a few honorific forms of verbs like

もらう いただく
くれる くださる
あげる さしあげる

A few words in けいご need special care.

食べます・飲みます めしあがれます
します なさします
います・行きます・来ます いらっしゃいます
見ます ごらんになります
言います おっしゃいます

According to Tae Kim, humble form of speech is used when talking about actions performed by oneself while honorific form is used when talking about another person.

A verb can be made ‘humble’ by

お+V (minus ます)+する

ご+N (minus する)+する

=To ____________

A verb can be made ‘honorific’ by

お+V (minus ます)+になります

ご+N (minus する)+になります

=To ____________

To be on the safe side and not get confused in the future, I made a not of the conjugations of the three verbs I’ve heard most often.

Jpeg

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)

