〜をもらう、〜をくれる、〜をあげる、〜をやる、〜ことになる、〜ようになる、〜かどうか and 〜だす

I took a break from my studies and I’m feeling the “aftereffects” of it. It’s getting a little difficult to find motivation to put in some more hours for Japanese when I have the time. A new semester has started and pretty soon I’ll have more assignments than I can handle and there will be no time left.

I’ve been looking for a fun way to get me back into the routine. I recently downloaded an episode of Aoharu x Kikanjuu because it was on a recommended list of must watch anime for 2015. (Has anyone watched it yet? What did you think?) I like watching anime in Japanese with English subtitles. I plan to practice some listening by playing the video over and over till I get all of it.

Back to N4 grammar. Today I studied 〜をもらう、〜をくれる、〜をあげる、〜をやる、〜ことになる、〜ようになる、〜かどうか and 〜だす

The first four are very tricky. I often get confused when using them because they seem right to me even when the answers in the book say the opposite. I think I’ve got a pretty good hang on them for now.

〜をもらう The person speaking “receives” something from a person, school, company, country etc.
〜をくれる The person “gives/ brings” something to/for the person speaking
〜をあげる Person A gives something to Person B
〜をやる Person gives something to an animal or a plant

eg: 毎日、花に水をやります。

1. 〜ことになる/ 〜ないことになる

This uses the dictionary form of the verb to mean “It has been decided/ not to”

2. 〜ようになる

On the other hand, this means “To become to be able to”

3. 〜かどうか

This is used to imply uncertainty and means “Whether or if”

4. 〜だす

This is similar in usage as はじめる and means “to begin, start” as in “It started raining.”

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)