Stephanie Alva, MyLifeKeys

For the past few days I’ve been writing down my weird yet awesome dreams in a pocket diary I had bought just for the purpose. I used to fill in almost everyday before my semester had started and it felt great! It stopped soon after I grew some lazy bones and it never saw the light of day. And that is why I was so excited when I realized I was doing the same again today morning. It was like a voice in my head just stating that fact. I had gone back to having that habit again. Wonderful! But what was more wonderful was that voice.

MylifeKeys founder Stephanie Alva, a certified life coach keeps saying that all the answers we need are in us. We just have to look out for the signs. And I did. It is so relieving to know I’m not going to be lost again.

There was a time when I used to wonder how I was going to survive when I grew up. I knew nothing about which way to go, what to do. My mom has always helped before me even asking. It is in her nature to do so. But now, I’m OK. The idea of being on my own is scary, but not as daunting as I imagined it to be before.

Everyday, Stephanie Alva sends out some affirmations for her followers on Twitter. You can check her out here. There are a few which stood out to me today.

She said,” LADIES & GENTLEMEN if youre interested in someone FLIRT, speak up, let them know! Its OK if its not reciprocated! BE BOLD!”

LOL! If you like someone, be bold and let them know. What’s the worst that can happen to you? They won’t return your feelings and you’ll be just fine. What I understood from this is that I need to speak up more often. Not just when I like someone.

If you don’t like something, speak up. If you want something, then by all means, speak up! It might not be easy at first, but by doing this you are trying to make things happen to you. You’re not just a bystander anymore. You decide what you want to happen to you. By speaking up, you can actually change your circumstances.

She had also tweeted, “Act as if everything you desire is already here… treat yourself as if you already are what you’d like to become.” – Wayne Dyer #LifeKey

Live as if. She keeps saying that. The thing is if you believe you are a failure, you turn into one. If you believe you are a star, you actually turn into one. Now, if you want to ace an exam, it is possible, provided to reaffirm what you say by putting in some work. What I’m stressing here is that words you say are powerful. They decide how you will react to situations and decide your future. It’s as simple as that. Change how you think and anything’s possible.

I’ve been following Stephanie for more than a year now, and I’m really thankful to her for changing me indirectly through her tweets. The whole writing endeavour started because of the things I learnt from her. And my life has become so much better now. When I feel overwhelmed, I just start writing like this and bam! There’s the answer I was looking for. You will see in my previous posts the things that I’ve ‘realized’ have actually struck me when simply letting my fingers fly over the keyboard.

P.S. I’ve been wanting to learn Japanese (this would be my fourth try) and now Spanish for a while. Even found an MIT online course on it. Let’s see if it works out. One thing is for sure. I am not going to feel guilty if I don’t go through with it this time.

Enjoyed it? Leave a reply :)

